Cap and Gown

Tuesday was such an amazing day. I woke up super early and took the 2.5-hour drive to the Texas A&M- Corpus Christi campus. I have been working on my MBA online since August 2015 but had never actually been to their campus. My husband and my kids tagged along for the ride. On the way over there I kept thinking of all the sacrifices I’ve had to make in order to pursue my MBA. A few hours of sleep because I had to stay up late finishing up an assignment, and staying in all weekend to work on a research paper. From taking notes while sitting in my car during my boys’ practice to squeezing in a quiz during lunch. The road to a Graduate Degree has not been easy. Yet, I still think it’s worth it 100% and picking up my cap and gown on Tuesday, proves it.

As I mentioned, my kids went with me. As we are walking around the campus they begin to admire the beautiful scenery and start talking about what they expect their college to look like. That conversation right there is the real reason I wanted a college degree. See what I have earned after 5 years in college is not a few paper with some signatures, what I earned was my children’s admiration and respect! (Way to Go Mom!) They have seen first-hand the hard work that goes into earning a degree but have also witnessed the benefits. The rule in this house is if Mom can do it so can you so If Mom can earn a degree, so can they. College is not something we dream about in this house; college is something we prepare for. They don’t say, “If one day I go to college…”, no they say, “When I go to Baylor/Texas A&M/ UT/ LSU…”. College is something they look forward to, something they know they’re expected and encouraged to achieve.

My eyes filled up with tears as I tried on my graduation regalia, not because of what I have achieved, but because of who I have inspired!

One thought on “Cap and Gown

Leave a Reply

